Formerly Berkeley Food & Housing Project

Employee Spotlight: Annum Khalid

We caught up with Annum about how she came to the social services field and what motivates her to serve her clients.

Why do you choose to work in the social services field? 

I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do when I started college, but I wound up taking a gerontology course, and loved it! I wound up doing that as a minor and worked with the senior population for a while. It made me realize I love working with people and helping people.

Tell us about your career at BFHP

I started out as a Case Manager here, and completed my Master’s Degree in Human Services, then I ended up getting this Healthcare Navigator position, which I really love because I get to combine everything from my gerontology background with case management. It’s the best of both worlds!

What is your favorite thing about working at BFHP?

I love having the flexibility and support to be able to do my job. Having trust and freedom from management allows me to do what needs to be done to help my clients.

What motivates you every day

It sounds like a cliché answer, but it’s my clients! When I hear from a client that we saved their life, it makes me want to do everything in my capacity that I can to help them.

What is your biggest success story over the past year?

One client came to me with severe health and memory issues. I worked with him for 6 months to get him treated and connected with services and benefits. And then I was able to place him into an assisted living facility where he is now thriving and doing great!  

What are you passionate about?

I am passionate about the demographic that we work with. Getting into this field and getting my master’s has taught me about how much I like doing what I do. I’m also passionate about continuing to grow my career at this organization! 

Do you have any pets?

I have one cat named Katie.

Tea or coffee?

Coffee. I get made fun of at the office because I like my coffee just black.  

Where do you consider “home”?

I am an immigrant, I immigrated to this country when I was three years old, but as far as I consider, California is my home.

On a day off, what would we find you doing?

During COVID I got really into mountain biking, so probably that.

What is your favorite ice cream flavor?

Rocky Road

What is your go-to comfort food?

Hot noodle soup, like ramen or phở.

What is the best advice you have recieved?

My mom always told me and my two sisters, even if you only have $10 to your name you can afford to give $1 of that to someone who is less fortunate. She always instilled in us knowing your privilege and helping other people, it is probably another reason I got into this field.

What is your go to activity for relaxation or to decompress? 

I love reading and listening to music.

STAY IN TOUCH

© 2024 Insight Housing

CONTACT US

2855 Telegraph Ave, Suite 601
Berkeley, CA 94705

(510) 649-4965

STAY IN TOUCH

© 2024 Insight Housing